Yamaha Artist Billy Childs Releases Album on Sony Masterworks

Soyeon Kate LeeBilly Childs

In his latest album, Billy Childs reaches back to his childhood love of Rock & Roll Hall of Fame singer-songwriter Laura Nyro. Her particular blend of Broadway inspired melodies, jazz improvisation and socially conscious lyrics form the inspiration for his reconception of her music in Map to the Treasure: Reimagining Laura Nyro, which features an incredible host of musicians who join him in reinterpreting her music:

Billy Childs - piano, Wurlitzer, celeste
Renee Fleming, Becca Stevens, Lisa Fischer, Esperanza Spalding, Rickie Lee Jones, Ledisi, Susan Tedeschi, Shawn Colvin, Dianne Reeves - vocals
Yo-Yo Ma - cello
Chris Botti - trumpet
Alison Krauss - vocals, backing vocals
Dan Tyminski - backing vocals
Wayne Shorter - soprano saxophone
Chris Potter - tenor saxophone
Steve Wilson - alto saxophone
Carol Robbins - harp
Scott Colley, Carlitos del Puerto - bass
Brian Blade - drums
Mark Robertson, Jen Choi Fischer, Alyssa Park - violin
Luke Maurer - viola
Vanessa Freebairn-Smith - cello
Dean Parks - guitar
Sara Andon - flute
Jerry Douglas - dobro
Jay Bellerose - percussion
Vinnie Colaiuta - drums

Selected Press:

Album Purchase:


Get in Touch

Send an email to a Friend. Like us on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter. Join Mailing List