New York Philharmonic New Year’s Eve Concert

Marvin Hamlisch Marvin Hamlisch

This New Year’s Eve the New York Philharmonic will present One Singular Sensation: Celebrating Marvin Hamlisch, a special New Year’s Eve concert saluting the late composer-conductor. The concert, which will be telecast nationally on Live From Lincoln Center on PBS stations at 8:00 p.m., will feature the late Mr. Hamlisch performing his own arrangement of Richard Rogers’ “I’ll Take Manhattan,” played live on the Yamaha Disklavier. Michael Feinstein will also perform the composer’s work from the piano.

The Orchestra will be joined by Marvin Hamlisch’s friends and collaborators, including Joshua Bell, Raúl Esparza, Michael Feinstein, Maria Friedman, Josh Groban, Megan Hilty, Audra McDonald, Kelli O’Hara, and Frederica von Stade performing repertoire from Mr. Hamlisch’s works for stage and film, including A Chorus Line and Sweet Smell of Success. Paul Gemignani will conduct and Lonny Price will direct the performance Monday, December 31, 2012, at 7:30 p.m.

Before his passing, August 6, 2012, at the age of 68, Marvin Hamlisch was originally scheduled to host and conduct this year’s annual New Year’s Eve concert. A Philharmonic friend and generous supporter, Mr. Hamlisch appeared with the Orchestra four times, conducting a total of 40 songs including selections from A Chorus Line, for which he won a Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award. Anticipating his second appearance with the Philharmonic, Mr. Hamlisch said in 2009: “Any time you get a chance to work with the New York Philharmonic, you say a prayer of thanks. I had a wonderful rapport with the musicians and I’m thrilled to be back.”

One Singular Sensation: Celebrating Marvin Hamlisch
New York Philharmonic

Avery Fisher Hall
Monday, December 31, 2012, 7:30 p.m.
Live From Lincoln Center telecast on PBS stations, 8:00 p.m. [check local listings]
Paul Gemignani, conductor
Lonny Price, director
Audra McDonald, host
Beth Behrs, vocalist*
Lilla Crawford, vocalist*
Joshua Bell, violin
Raúl Esparza, vocalist
Michael Feinstein, piano and vocalist*
Maria Friedman, vocalist
Josh Groban, vocalist*
Megan Hilty, vocalist*
Brian d’Arcy James, vocalist*
Audra McDonald, vocalist
Kelli O’Hara, vocalist
Frederica von Stade, vocalist
Program to feature Marvin Hamlisch’s music for stage and film, including selections from A Chorus Line and Sweet Smell of Success.


Get in Touch

Send an email to a Friend. Like us on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter. Join Mailing List