The flow of console operation

Running configuration and configuration files:

The behavior of Yamaha router is according to the running configuration, which is constructed by the command lines and stored in the RAM (Random Access Memory) of the router.

When Yamaha router boots up by powered on or restarting, it reads the configuration file which is stored in the Flash ROM (Read Only Memory), and use it as the running configuration.

The user can change the running configuration by inputting the command from the console.
The behavior of the Yamaha router changes immediately after inputting the command.

'save' command saves the current running configuration to the configuration file.
You must save the running configuration when you change the configuration by inputting commands, otherwise you will lose the running configuration when the router is powered off or is restarted.

                            +----------------------------------+
                            |                                  |
                            |                                  |
                            |      Each function of router     |
                            |                                  |
                            |                                  |
                            +----------------------------------+
                                           ^
                                           ^ Control
                                           ^
                                           v
                                           v Refer
 Command input on console                  v
 +----------------------+           +----------------+ Boot +----------------------+
 |                      |           |                | <--  |                      |
 | ip lan1 address      |           |                |      |                      |
 | ip lan2 address      |           |                |      |                      |
 | ip filter            | --------> | configuration  |      | Configuration on the |
 | tftp host            | Configure |  on the RAM    |      | nonvolatile memory   |
 | login timer          |           |                |      |                      |
 | ...                  |           |                |      |                      |
 |                      |           |                |  --> |                      |
 +----------------------+           +----------------+ Save +----------------------+

Operation Basic

1. Get the Administrator privilege

Only the Administrator level user can change the router configuration.
To get the Administrator privilege, you must use the 'administrator' command when you are in the User level on the console.
You are required to input the administrator password when it is set by 'administrator password' command.

 +----------------------------------------------
 |
 | >administrator 
 | Password: 
 | # 
 |
 +----------------------------------------------

2. Change the configuration

When the Administrator level user types in a command from the console, that command is applied to the running configuration and the router changes its behavior immediately.

3. Browse the configuration

You can browse the configuration from the console with 'show config' command and its variation.
These commands are available not only for the Administrator level user, but also for the User level user.
Some information such as ISP's password are hidden from the User level user.

show config Shows all command lines in the running configuration.
show config pp Shows the command lines in the running configuration for the selected or designated PP interface.
show config tunnel Shows the command lines in the running configuration for the selected or designated TUNNEL interface.
less config Shows all command lines in the running configuration with 'less' function.
show config | grep ... Shows the command lines which are matching with 'grep' pattern in the running configuration.

4. Save the configuration

Make sure to save the running configuration to Flash ROM after changing it, otherwise the changing will be lost after the power cycling.

 +----------------------------------------------
 |
 | # save
 | Saving . . .
 | Done .
 | #
 |
 +----------------------------------------------

When you leave the Administrator level by 'quit' command while there are any changes in the running configuration, the router asks you whether to save the running configuration to the configuration file or not. To save it, you must enter [ y ] key. When you enter [ n ] key, the running configuration is not saved to the configuration file though the changes to the running configuration are valid and effective.

 +----------------------------------------------
 |
 | # quit
 | Save new configuration ? (Y/N)
 |
 +----------------------------------------------

5. PP and TUNNEL interface configuration

Before changing the PP or TUNNEL interface configuration:

  • Before changing PP or TUNNEL interface configuration, it is recommended to disconnect the interface connection and disable the interface.
  • To disconnect the interface connection, 'disconnect' command for PP and 'disconnect tunnel' command for TUNNEL are used.
  • To disable the interface, 'pp disable' command for PP and 'tunnel disable' command for TUNNEL is used.

Select the target PP and TUNNEL interface

You have to select the target interface with 'pp select' or 'tunnel select' command.

Ex.) PP interface (none -> PP[01] -> PP[02] ->none)

 +----------------------------------------------
 |
 | # pp select 1
 | pp1# pp select 2
 | pp2# pp select none
 | # 
 |
 +----------------------------------------------

Ex.) TUNNEL interface (none -> TUNNEL[01] -> TUNNEL[02] ->none)

 +----------------------------------------------
 |
 | # tunnel select 1
 | tunnel1# tunnel select 2
 | tunnel2# tunnel select none
 | # 
 |
 +----------------------------------------------

After changing PP or TUNNEL interface configuration

After changing the PP or TUNNEL interface, make sure to enable the interface by 'pp enable' or 'tunnel enable' command.

Return to Top